Reflection Week two May 13, 14, 15 2015

Week two May 13, 14, 15 2015

This week to warm up to teaching 1/3 of the day, it was my task to teach 6 mini lessons of 15 mins each, placed before morning tea and before lunch. These lessons were of my choice with no link to the current teachers plans, this was to show my mentor how the class reacted to me as their teacher and also as not to impact the current weeks testing for assessment process.
I submitted my plans with links two the year two ACC.
I must admit I did go with my comfort zone for the foundation of the first few lessons. (as I have an Early Childhood back ground).
The little old lady who swallowed a fly  (love this book, I also have the puppet and animals to stuff her with (cool!))
When planning the lesson’s I tried to limit each to 15 mins, however practically when reflecting after what I had organised went longer (wow cant believe how quick 15 min goes), I will need to adjust this when future planning.
All children seemed interested and engaged by the topic.
I was excited that the children were able to tell my the reason behind rhyming poems (aka – the rhyming word end the same), glad this part of the lesson worked really well.
Disappointed that when working the slide show you have to go back and forth to the mouse attached to the computers, as I felt some children lost interest and I was not able to be completely focused on student behaviour (groups taking).
I spoke with the ICT teacher for the school and am the first to trial a new app so that the IWB and laptop can be controlled vis the I Pad or I Phone called Goggle chrome, fingers crossed that works better then the current system.
Overall I am please with the way most children listened to me and interacted. I feel that I still need work when having students return answers to questions as that sometimes was messy and loud.
I felt that I easily managed the group and was confident when redirecting any students behaviours that were inappropriate.
I will leave you all with a picture of a worksheet where I had children think of their own words for the little old lady.
CCI19052015_00000
(gave me the biggest giggle – if you cant read it says I know an old Ninja who swallowed a whinger. I don’t know why he swallowed a whinger perhaps he’ll die. Just for the record (cause i had to ask the student) a whinger is a little baby that cry’s all the time)
Leave a Reply

